EXTASY Records is set to release the original motion picture soundtrack for Catacombs, the dark thriller from the producers of the SAW series about to make its theatrical debut in Japan.

Why is this soundtrack a landmark for jrock fans? Because YOSHIKI (X JAPAN), as executive producer, has delivered an album unprecedented in music history for its collaboration of Japanese and American rock bands on a multinational release. His own involvement itself was unprecedented, as he was heavily involved in hand-selecting the artists featured on the album.

Most significantly, this soundtrack includes the first song by VIOLET UK to be released on an album. YOSHIKI wrote and produced "Blue Butterfly" as the End Title song for the film. And one of YOSHIKI‘s personal choices for the album was "Psyche" by hide‘s band zilch.

The album also includes artists such as gothic/industrial greats Peter Murphy (ex-Bauhaus) and Skinny Puppy, digital soundscaping wizard BT, and musical juggernaut Ministry. The soundtrack will be available in Japan at retail and online stores nationwide on October 2. But how can you be the first to own your own copy of VIOLET UK‘s album debut?

Look no further, because Jrock Revolution will be the first exclusive retailer of the Catacombs movie soundtrack outside of Japan.

Tonight, as in Thursday, September 20, we open the doors to a pre-sale of this groundbreaking soundtrack, right here at JRR. And the first five hundred pre-orders will ship with a special bonus gift included.

The pre-sale begins at 8:59 P.M. PST/ 11:59 P.M. EST. We’re open for orders!

Continue for the full track listing and more about the Catacombs movie itself.


Catacombs Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

1. “Blue Butterfly” – Violet UK

2. “Lie” – Black Light Burns

3. “Smartbomb” – BT

4. “Magnifishit” – Skinny Puppy

5. “Badass(Rogue Element Mix)” – The Crystal Method

6. “Unholy Confessions” – Avenged Sevenfold

7. “Twist Your Fate” – Peter Murphy

8. “Please Myself” – Shawnee Smith

9. “Psyche” – zilch

10. “Bleeding Mascara” – Atreyu

11. “Vela, Together We Await The Storm” – The Human Abstract

12. “Die In A Crash” – Ministry


Catacombs: About the Film

is about a young woman on her first trip to Paris, who hits a party in the Catacombs, the 200-mile labyrinth of limestone tunnels under the city lined with the remains of 7 million people. Separated from her friends, she becomes convinced that someone or something is chasing her. Click here to see the trailer.

This thrilling horror film from Lions Gate Entertainment, starring Shannyn Sossaman and Alecia Moore (Pink), has been eagerly awaited by audiences worldwide. Catacombs also stars Ashleigh Rains, Mihai Ogasanu, Cain Manoli, Radu Andrei Micu, and Cabral Ibaka. The film was written and directed by David Elliott and Tomm Coker. Gregg Hoffman, Mark Burg, and Oren Koules produced the film. Catacombs is distributed by Digital Site and will open October 6, 2007 in Japan.

EXTASY Records and Treadstone Records produced the soundtrack, which will be available for purchase directly through Jrock Revolution.